Cover Crush: Be Frank With Me by Julia Claiborne Johnson

Cover Crush banner

be-frank-with-meReclusive literary legend M. M. “Mimi” Banning has been holed up in her Bel Air mansion for years. But after falling prey to a Bernie Madoff-style ponzi scheme, she’s flat broke. Now Mimi must write a new book for the first time in decades, and to ensure the timely delivery of her manuscript, her New York publisher sends an assistant to monitor her progress. The prickly Mimi reluctantly complies—with a few stipulations: No Ivy-Leaguers or English majors. Must drive, cook, tidy. Computer whiz. Good with kids. Quiet, discreet, sane.

When Alice Whitley arrives at the Banning mansion, she’s put to work right away—as a full-time companion to Frank, the writer’s eccentric nine-year-old, a boy with the wit of Noel Coward, the wardrobe of a 1930s movie star, and very little in common with his fellow fourth-graders.

As she slowly gets to know Frank, Alice becomes consumed with finding out who Frank’s father is, how his gorgeous “piano teacher and itinerant male role model” Xander fits into the Banning family equation—and whether Mimi will ever finish that book.

**********

I am doing things a little different today. Since my exclusive interview with C.S. Harris was posted yesterday, I am posting my cover crush today. Tomorrow I will be sure to post my, Bookish Happenings post. I do have lots of interesting topics to talk about on that post. Be sure to come back to tomorrow for that! 

**********

I am not a cover designer but I can agree that cover layouts play an important role in the overall presentation of books and I must admit I first judge a book by its cover.

This cover really jumps out to me. I like the black and white with a touch of color. The male’s back facing us with his head down gives it a mystery feel as to what is going through his mind. At least I hope it’s a male? Anyhow, the premise sounds interesting and like unconventional stories and being pulled in by uncommon characters. So I am willing to give this a try sometime! I have added it to my to-read pile.

Thank you for visiting Layered Pages today and please look below for more great cover crushes from my fellow book bloggers.

Stephanie M. Hopkins

**********

More Great Cover Crushes! 

Cover Crush is a weekly series that originated with Erin at Flashlight Commentary.

Other great book bloggers who cover crush: 

Heather @ The Maiden’s Court-coming soon

Magdalena @ A Bookaholic Swede

Holly @ 2 Kids and Tired Books 

Colleen @ A Literary Vacation -Coming soon

More cover crushes over at indieBRAG!

 

Cover Crush:Paradox Forged in Blood by Mary Frances Fisher

Cover Crush banner

paradox-forged-in-bloodParadox Forged in Blood by Mary Frances Fisher

A murder on Millionaire’s Row.
A killer’s chilling words, “Shh. I know where you live.”
A woman tormented by her guilt-ridden past.

A historical murder mystery, Paradox Forged in Blood is set in Cleveland, Ohio, during the late 1930s. Four decades after the murder of socialite Louis Sheridan, the cold case is resurrected with receipt of new evidence that transports detectives back to Nazi Germany. The only living witness, Ellen O’Malley, must confront a haunting secret and her complicit actions.

***********

My thoughts on the cover and premise:

I’ve said this before and I will say it again. I am not a cover designer but I can agree that cover layouts play an important role in the overall presentation of books and I must admit I first judge a book by its cover.

I think the cover is perfect for the premise of the story. The blood spattered on the cover certainly gives it a dramatic flair.

I love a good murder mystery and I am highly interested in the setting and period for the story. A cold case is an intriguing part of this story and I can’t wait to discover what the detectives find in Nazi Germany. Bumping up this book on my to-read list!

***********

Cover Crush is a weekly series that originated with Erin at Flashlight Commentary.

Other great book bloggers who cover crush: 

Heather @ The Maiden’s Court-coming soon

Magdalena @ A Bookaholic Swede

Holly @ 2 Kids and Tired Books 

Colleen @ A Literary Vacation -Coming soon

Be sure to check out Colleen’s latest indieBRAG’s cover crush here

More cover crushes over at indieBRAG!

stay-calm-and-support-book-bloggers

Cover Crush: The Girl From The Tea Garden by Janet MacLeod Trotter

the-girl-from-the-tea-gardenThe India Tea Series, Book 3

Pub Date 06 Dec 2016

In the dying days of the Raj, Anglo-Indian schoolgirl Adela Robson dreams of a glamorous career on the stage. When she sneaks away from school in the back of handsome Sam Jackman’s car, she knows a new life awaits—but it is not the one she imagined.

In Simla, the summer seat of the Raj government, Adela throws herself into all the dazzling entertainments 1930s Indian society can offer a beautiful debutante. But just as her ambitions seem on the cusp of becoming reality, she meets a charming but spoilt prince, setting in motion a devastating chain of events.

The outbreak of the Second World War finds Adela back in England—a country she cannot remember—without hope or love, and hiding a shameful secret. Only exceptional courage and endurance can pull her through these dark times and carry her back to the homeland of her heart.

Cover Crush banner

My Thought’s on the Title, Cover and premise:

I’ve said this before and I will say it again. I am not a cover designer but I can agree that cover layouts play an important role in the overall presentation of books and I must admit I first judge a book by its cover.

I am auto-approved to review this title so I decided to give it a go. I like the title of course but the cover is what first caught my attention.  The thought of a tea garden is so delightful to me. I love tea and I love gardens!

Now is it just me or does the girl in the cover look a little too old to be a schoolgirl? Or maybe she is in finishing school or whatever you want to call it. But who cares, it’s still a great cover.

The girl’s surrounding in the cover is beautiful. Do you notice the two airplanes in the right hand corner? A nice touch. Goes well with the premise.

I am really looking forward to seeing if this story lives up to the cover and premise!

Stephanie M. Hopkins

Cover Crush is a weekly series that originated with Erin at Flashlight Commentary.

Other great book bloggers who cover crush: 

Heather @ The Maiden’s Court-coming soon

Magdalena @ A Bookaholic Swede

Holly @ 2 Kids and Tired Books

Colleen @ A Literary Vacation -Coming soon

More cover crushes over at indieBRAG!

stay-calm-and-support-book-bloggers

Review: Cascade by Maryanne O’Hara

Back in May 2013 I shared my short put to the point review of Cascade by Maryanne O’Hara. It’s such a great read I thought I would share it again! Enjoy!

Cascade

My thoughts:

Love, loss and conflicting loyalties and promises- this story sweeps you into the 1930’s, a town in Cascade, Massachusetts. Who is fighting for their very own survival of a flood that is to create a reservoir for Boston. A woman-Desdemona, who has made promises to her dying father and bound to the man she married. Yet she yearns to for a life of an artist and falls for a young Jewish man. Author Maryanne O’Hara brings you raw emotions in her characters, their lives and gives you a sense of timeless love and beauty. I have to admit when I opened the first page and started reading, I had a hard time getting into it. So I stepped away for a few days and went back to it. Because I literally had just finished a book that was set in the 19 Century and I picked this one up immediately afterwards. Not the best idea in the world. Once I picked it up again, the story drawled me in and I was memorized. I truly admire the authors writing style and her way with characterization. The story all around is just beautiful and atmospheric. I highly recommend this novel.

Book Cover Rating:

I am rating this book cover five stars! I absolutely love it! It’s stunning and true to the story.

Book description on goodreads:

What would you give up to become the person you knew you were meant to be?

It’s 1935, and Dez Spaulding has sacrificed her plans to work as an artist in New York to care for her bankrupt, ailing father in Cascade, Massachusetts. When he dies, Dez finds herself caught in a marriage of convenience, bound to the promise she made to save her father’s Shakespeare Theater, an especially difficult feat since the town faces almost certain flooding to create a reservoir. When she falls for fellow artist and kindred spirit Jacob Solomon, she sees a chance to escape with him and realize her New York ambitions, but her decisions will have bitter and unexpected consequences.

Fans of Richard Russo, Amor Towles, Sebastian Barry, and Paula McLain will savor this transporting novel about the eternal tug between our duties and our desires, set in New York City and New England during the uncertain, tumultuous 1930s.

*All reviews, interviews, guest posts and promotions are original works of the people involved. In order to use any part of the material from this site, please ask for permission from Stephanie M. Hopkins-Layered Pages. *