Saturday Sunday: Work Life Balance

Real Talk:

“The key is in not spending time, but in investing it.” —Stephen R. Covey, author

I hope you all had a wonderful week! I’ve worked a lot this week and was able to take some time to relax some and I got a lot accomplished in the creating of hand work projects. I’ve also listed great items in my Poshmark Closet. This week was a real eye opener for me and I will tell you why.

This past Thursday the sun was shinning and the air was crisps and with  a calm breeze. The perfect elements for back porch sitting. I took my lunch on the screened porch and while I sat there, I listened to the distance sounds of a leaf blower, someone using a hammer, and the sounds of the wind blowing through the trees. A peaceful moment to be sure and a time to relax a little before getting back to work.

Later on, in the day I reflected back to that moment and realized that my work/life balance is out of balance- if you will. I really enjoyed that moment on the porch and it helped me get through the rest of my day. If the weather permits during the work week, I might take a walk to the lake during my lunch breaks.

I’m also making a point to take a few moments each day to work on my art and slow stitching projects. That is really helping a great deal. Another helpful life/balance activity is to meet friends for coffee and good conversation. I started doing that more often last fall and it has changed my life. I’m an extreme introvert and pushing myself to get out more has been eye opening. Just be sure to find your tribe that is good for you. People who encourage you and lift you up.

Me in the morningHere is where I went wrong. Yesterday morning I took a picture of what I looked like waking up.  My hair is braided because its so curly and long now that if I don’t braid it at night, its a tangled mess. See those dark circles under my eyes? I stayed up really late to work on Poshmark, editing, proofreading, and blogging. I’m talking through the night into the wee hours of 2 am! That was not a great idea and it won’t happen again. I struggled to get out of bed in the morning and it had messed with my morning routine which sets my day. Having said that, most weeks I’m working 24/7 but I usually have a cut off in the evening times at 10 pm. I’m now setting that cut off time to 7 pm. I’ve also decided to cut my hours on the weekends and no longer work on Sundays.

People think working from home is glamorous and a luxury. Its not. Would I prefer working outside the home? Yes. One day I want to make that happen but I want the job to be the right fit for me. (Yes, working from home is a right fit for a lot of people and they love it. There are many aspects working from home I do actually like. I might get to that in another post.) Sometimes online I see “waking up in bed selfies” and I’m like…what? No way! Do they have make-up on? Haha! Anyhow, I want to be real and show y’all not every morning for self employed people is all sunshine and roses. Don’t get me wrong, I’m blessed and grateful. I just want people to know that working from home is REAL HARD work and sometimes it’s not easy to step away from it because your work is all around you. Also often  times there is no one to hold you accountable so it is on you to make it happen. 

********

“Ecclesiastes 3:12-13 So I concluded there is nothing better than to be happy and enjoy ourselves as long as we can. And people should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labor, for these are gifts from God.”

********

We live in a fast-paced society and it can really impact ones mental and physical health. This year for me is about slowing down and enjoying life more and just being in the present. Taking the time to smell the roses. Finding that work/life balance.

Have a lovely weekend and find your balance! God bless.

-Stephanie

**********

Be sure to visit my Facebook Page to discover more about what I am doing these days.

Layered Pages Facebook Page

Follow my closet @artsycouture42 and use my code: ARTSYCOUTURE42 to get a free $10 credit when signing up for Poshmark! www.poshmark.

Artsycouture42

 

 

New Beginnings for Layered Pages

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Layered Pages will now be a blend of literature (Book Sales Starting on Friday), art, photography, and fashion! Be sure to tell your friends all about the new changes to Layered Pages!

My latest listings on Poshmark is now live! 10 listings in all! Be sure to check this out and my other items in my closet!  Make a bundle and get 15% OFF 3 or more items from this closet! Poshmark Website 

Use my code ARTSYCOUTURE42 to sign up for Poshmark and get a $5.00 credit!  

This past weekend I was going to get my art on but I did not get a moment to do so! Very frustrating but I shall make up for it soon and share with you all my upcoming creations.

What I’m reading: Sailing Lessons by Hannah McKinnon

On the shores of Cape Cod, the Bailey sisters reunite with their long-lost father for a summer of hope and forgiveness in this heartfelt novel from the author of the “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) Mystic Summer, The Lake Season, and The Summer House, sure to appeal to “fans of Elin Hilderbrand” (Booklist).

Wrenn Bailey has lived all her life on Cape Cod with her mother Lindy, older sister Shannon, and younger sister Piper. Growing up, life was dictated by the seasons with sleepy gray winters where only the locals stayed on, followed by the sharp influx and colorful bustle of summer tourists who swept up the elbow of the Cape and infiltrated their small paradise.

But it wasn’t just the tourists who interrupted Wrenn’s formative years; her father—brilliant but troubled photographer Caleb—has long made a habit of drifting in and out of his girls’ lives. Until the one summer he left the Cape and did not return again.

Now, almost twenty years later, Caleb has come back one last time, suffering from pancreatic cancer and seeking absolution. Wrenn and her sisters each respond differently to their father’s return, determined to find closure. But that means returning to the past and revisiting old wounds—wounds that cause the tightknit Bailey women to confront their own wishes and wants, and admit to their own wrong-doings over the years. In a place that brings both great comfort and great pain, the Bailey sisters experience a summer on the Cape that promises not only hard endings, but perhaps, hopeful new beginnings.

 What I’m listening to: Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman-Fabulous so far!

“A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!”—Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut–for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? 

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.