New Beginnings for Layered Pages

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Layered Pages will now be a blend of literature (Book Sales Starting on Friday), art, photography, and fashion! Be sure to tell your friends all about the new changes to Layered Pages!

My latest listings on Poshmark is now live! 10 listings in all! Be sure to check this out and my other items in my closet!  Make a bundle and get 15% OFF 3 or more items from this closet! Poshmark Website 

Use my code ARTSYCOUTURE to sign up for Poshmark and get a $5.00 credit!  

This past weekend I was going to get my art on but I did not get a moment to do so! Very frustrating but I shall make up for it soon and share with you all my upcoming creations.

What I’m reading: Sailing Lessons by Hannah McKinnon

On the shores of Cape Cod, the Bailey sisters reunite with their long-lost father for a summer of hope and forgiveness in this heartfelt novel from the author of the “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) Mystic Summer, The Lake Season, and The Summer House, sure to appeal to “fans of Elin Hilderbrand” (Booklist).

Wrenn Bailey has lived all her life on Cape Cod with her mother Lindy, older sister Shannon, and younger sister Piper. Growing up, life was dictated by the seasons with sleepy gray winters where only the locals stayed on, followed by the sharp influx and colorful bustle of summer tourists who swept up the elbow of the Cape and infiltrated their small paradise.

But it wasn’t just the tourists who interrupted Wrenn’s formative years; her father—brilliant but troubled photographer Caleb—has long made a habit of drifting in and out of his girls’ lives. Until the one summer he left the Cape and did not return again.

Now, almost twenty years later, Caleb has come back one last time, suffering from pancreatic cancer and seeking absolution. Wrenn and her sisters each respond differently to their father’s return, determined to find closure. But that means returning to the past and revisiting old wounds—wounds that cause the tightknit Bailey women to confront their own wishes and wants, and admit to their own wrong-doings over the years. In a place that brings both great comfort and great pain, the Bailey sisters experience a summer on the Cape that promises not only hard endings, but perhaps, hopeful new beginnings.

 What I’m listening to: Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman-Fabulous so far!

“A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!”—Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut–for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? 

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

 

Advertisements

Art Love

Last weekend I had a chance to get my craft on and created a few cards and background pieces for an art journal and upcoming art projects. Some of the note-cards I gave to a dear friend that I hung out and toured a few historic homes with last Saturday. I will be blogging about the tour of homes soon here at Layered Pages. I can’t wait for you to see those posts!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am really into vintage mix media art and I like to collect craft supplies that compliment my taste. Sometimes, I try branch out in other medias-such as contemporary abstracts- but vintage is my first love.

Some of the supplies I used for these pieces are Ranger alcohol inks, Close To My Heart inks, rubber stamps, acrylic stamps, card stock, Paper Studio note cards, Ranger Yupo paper and so on….

Today I am hoping to put some more project ideas together to work on this evening or tomorrow, if I have the time. I am also hoping to start a new book today and maybe go thrifting. I am looking for a few particular brands in clothing for the summertime.

The images you see are taken from my camera on my phone so they might be a bit blurry.

I hope you all have a great Saturday and Sunday! See you back on Monday. Cheers!

Stephanie M. Hopkins

 

Friday Musings

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today I am hoping to get half way through, Sailing Lessons by Hannah McKinnon because I need to start another ARC rather quickly. I’ve got several-actually-to get through. So far, I am enjoying the story so that is good. It is a great read for summertime and I will probably be recommending it to my audience and friends.

I’m also listening to three audiobooks at the moment. *laughing* Crazy, I know but that is how I roll. In the slide show you see above displays them and I must admit they are an interesting contrast.

This evening-besides reading-I’m wanting to maybe work on an abstract on canvas. I’ve been inspired by taking walks in my neighborhood and envision an abstract of maybe a scene with a tree and water. Hmm…. we will see.

Tomorrow, I am posting about art that I created last weekend, so be on the lookout for that.  I hope you all enjoy your day and weekend! Cheers!

Stephanie M. Hopkins

Giveaways to enter!

LAP it Facebook Banner

L.A.P. it Marketing is holding a BIG giveaway at their Facebook Page! Be sure to check it out and enter! For US and Canada Residents only. Good luck!

Enter giveaway HERE

Giveaway at Novel Expressions

Novel Expressions Blog Tours Facebook Page is holding a giveaway!  A $25.00 Amazon Gift Card AND a Kindle Copy of Two Journeys Home: A Novel of Eighteenth Century Europe (The Derrynane Saga Book 2) by Kevin O’Connell to one lucky winner!

Enter giveaway HERE

L.A.P. it Marketing Giveaway Announcement

LAPit Logo

As many of you know, I started a marketing firm for Literature, Art and Photography. Over at the L.A.P. it Marketing Facebook Page I will be holding a fantastic giveaway starting on February 1st. Several of my clients will be contributing to the giveaway and we would be delighted to have you enter and share about what’s to come. Please follow L.A.P. it’s Facebook for exciting content and giveaways!

Stephanie M. Hopkins

Giveaway Package to one lucky winner:

$25 Amazon Gift Card

A Set of Handmade Bookmarks by Stephanie M. Hopkins

A 5×7 Vintage/Abstract on mix media paper by Stephanie M. Hopkins

8×12 Print Photo of Edinburgh Scotland by WSM Photography

Print book: Heart Soul & Rock ‘N’ Roll: A Mid-Life Love Story by Janet R. Stafford

Print book: The Immigrant by Alfred Woollacott III

Print copy of The Believers In The Crucible Nauvoo by Alfred Woollacott III

Kindle edition of Owen (Book one of The Tudor Trilogy) by Tony Riches

300 Writing Prompts Journal

My Heart Is Like A Singing Bird Quotes to Color book

 

Facebook Page

L.A.P. it Marketing Website

Twitter:  @lapitmarketing

Tumblr